Just another one …

Up until very recently I joined a group of friends once a week for a Pub Quiz.  It was fun at first and then we started winning.  Which was fun at first but then it started to be the whole reason for going and if we didn’t win it became a really bone of contention.  I pulled out a couple of weeks ago.

It’s fair to say that during the whole time I was part of the team a couple of the girls in the team were desperate to ‘bump’ into a well-known celebrity who was known to frequent the pubs of Hampstead/Camden and Kentish Town.  I’m not saying it was an obsession but most weeks this man’s name cropped up in the conversation.

So last night (two weeks after bailing out) their prayers were answered …

Sean Bean

Living in London you get used to seeing celebrities … and in real life they look disappointingly normal.

Posted in London Pubs
11 comments on “Just another one …
  1. Kathe W. says:

    who is it? I am lame when it comes to recognizing celebrities.

  2. Barbara Lake says:

    Living in London we saw them all the time! I was once in a theatre bar with Nigel Havers and was amazed at the fact that he was so short. I lived in Blackheath where Terry Waite also lived and we celebrated his release after five long years in captivity. I met many of these celebrities at dinner parties because I had friends in the business and they were either normal or pompous, thankfully usually, the former. A friend’s sister in law is a famous actress. Four of us were once dining in Bombay Brasserie and the husband of the same friend (whose sister is famous) and who counted Trevor Nunn and Geoffrey Palmer among his friends !) was so start struck , he couldn’t eat because Telly Savalas was sitting at the next table. You ignore the Duchess of York when she sits in the same restaurant and once I was in the ladies at Annabel’s with Joan Collins. Her pee sounded just like mine and my husband was heard to say as we came out at the same time, ‘my wife is far better looking’!!

    One year, Bernard Hill who also lived in Blackheath Village was the celebrity turning on the Christmas lights. My husband was dispatched by the Blackheath Village Traders’ Association to pick him up in our Mercedes. From the way he spoke to him, Bernard Hill obviously thought my husband was the chauffeur.

    I have hundreds of stories of celebs in Blackheath, London itself and elsewhere.

    As an added snippet, my husband was always being mistaken for Trevor McDonald who is also Trinidadian!! In Berkshire, at the First Holy Communion of a school friend’s son, we learned later that at the church, a man had turned around and said to his wife, ‘don’t look now but Trevor McDonald is sitting behind us’ to which his wife replied (having turned around) , “Oh my God! Jan Leeming is sitting beside him!”!! That was me and I looked nothing like Jan Leeming! I was mistaken for Diana Rigg in my youth though!

    • I love that your husband was mistaken for Trevor McDonald! My husband once played golf with Naas Botha (a very popular rugby player) he was really looking forward to the day but he came home in the evening really bad-tempered. He had fluffed his first crack at the ball and Naas (his partner) criticised him, showed him his mistake and that set the tone for the day. They lost and Naas told him later that he had played with people who made the same mistake that Sean had done before – but that they had listened to his advice and corrected themselves!

      I was tickled to read your Joan Collins anecdote and agree with your husband.

      Date: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 03:13:25 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  3. Mike Johnson says:

    I never did understand the whole celebrity thing. I couldn’t care less, one way or the other. But, I won’t get started on that.

    Nice to see you, Jane.

    • I have to admit I am (by and large) singularly unimpressed with celebrity. I was walking down the street behind two women once who were discussing another couple with such authority that I felt sure they must have been intimate friends of theirs. Turns out they were a cheesy celebrity non-couple who made a lot of money having a very public break-up … no wonder Jerry Springer is so popular.

      Date: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 21:37:55 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  4. Well, I’m no wiser having studied the photo. I think I’d get an ‘F’ in any celebrity identity test. I can understand why you gave the quiz night away. I used to do ten-pin bowling and you would’ve thought some of them were playing for sheep stations rather than entertainment. I’m definitely not competitive. I used to go for the laughs.

    • Funny you should say that – last week my son felt sorry for me and took me 10-pin bowling. I hadn’t been for years and was astonished by the women in the next lane. I preferred teh two handed bowling going on in the lane next but one.

      Date: Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:34:17 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  5. Barbara Lake says:

    I worked in the music business with the likes of Roy Orbison, Johnny Mathis, Lena Horne, Tony Bennett, Belafonte, Chuck Berry, Smokey Robinson et al and sat opposite Michael and Shakira Caine and Roger Moore and his then wife, in a Chelsea restaurant (which my boss had had closed) after Belafonte’s final night at the Palladium. Just as it was with Mathis and the same guests after his closing night. I recall Mathis being very drunk in the funniest way possible way and his Manager Ray Haughn, steering him out of the restaurant. I also recall having dinner with Victor Borge and his wife after we had brought him in to perform at The Dorchester one New Year’s Eve, He was very funny and his wife was charming. My boss once said to me ‘you’re not impressed, are you?’ when I didn’t turn a hair on meeting Anne Murray. It was fun but it was a job and the job had to be done properly. I could tell some stories though……………..!

Leave a Reply

Glebelands Allotments

the home of North Finchley Allotment Society

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

digginwivdebb

For veg growing ideas, hints and tips

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

The Last resort

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

stuff from ellen's head

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

2 http://scribble-n-paint.blogspot.com/

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

OUT OF MIKE'S MIND

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

My Missing Life

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

jabblog

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

It's a Snap !

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

Friko's World

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

The Blog of Bee

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

THE PARK PLACE GAZETTE - Ramblings and musings from a writer

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

