St Paddys Day.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  And if anyone reading this follows the rugby … what a brilliant end to an outstanding career for Brian O’Driscoll. Of course it’s disappointing that Wales didn’t make it for a record 3rd time in a row …

This time last year I was viewing the allotment site with several layers of clothes on … yesterday it was shorts and t-shirt!  Can it only be 5 months ago that the Met office were forecasting a long, cold winter that would stretch into May?  I agree it’s been the wettest but also extremely mild.

So yesterday down on the allotment after a two week break …

DSCF2124

So much Purple Sprouting Broccoli  and flowers on my Broad Beans …

DSCF2125

Digging over a bed for the first earlys …

DSCF2127        DSCF2128

                                                                                                                   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 … NADINE …

 

DSCF2129

 

 

… now all bedded in for St Paddys day.  (I do have another 3 varieties which will have to wait until next weekend)

The seedlings I planted a couple of weeks ago are all looking good but I did spot the inevitable signs of munching on the Pak Choi.  Drastic measures are being taken this year … the mild wet winter had been ideal conditions for the slugs so this year I have invested (£4.50) in a tube of Organic slug pellets.  Normally I am happy to make beer traps but I’d need a brewery on tap to deal with year’s deluge.

I also planted a couple of rows of parsnips and leeks in situ – in the spaces on my onions and garlic beds.

Did you spot the labelled stick next to the tatters?  I’ve decide I’m tired of forgetting what is what and have finally given in to labelling.  Years ago one of my sisters was married to a very dull man … and something of a control freak – he took labelling to new extremes – before placing a tin of baked beans in the larder it had to be dated and placed in rotation.  He was one of the dullest men I have ever met and is the reason I have resisted labelling for so long!  (Curse him) Thank goodness my sister eventually saw the light of day.

Posted in Allotment
6 comments on “St Paddys Day.
  1. Kathe W. says:

    I do not dare plant anything yet- It still is getting down to below freezing at night even tho it got to 65F yesterday during the day!
    I sort of label stuff just using twigs to mark where the seeds are because I actually make a map each year showing what and where I planted. …. and what is Nadine?
    Happy Gardening!

    • Hi Kathe – If we get another frost (and there’s no reason to think that can’t happen!) I’ll nip down and tuck everything up with fleece. Nadine the name of the variety of potato I have planted – a first early crop. I must have been bitten by something yesterday – I have three large itchy sites on my legs. Not a pretty sight.

      Date: Mon, 17 Mar 2014 16:58:56 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  2. Ellen Abbott says:

    I can’t believe you are already putting in your garden while the old winter stuff still languishes in mine. But it’s been a long cold winter here and fairly wet. Also, we are busy at work and out few days at home, the garden is just not so high on the list. Still getting greens and kohlrabi.

    • It’s unusually early but a lovely bonus! Funny thing about having the allotment is that I go over there and stay much longer than I did when I was growing stuff in my own garden. Maybe our Met Office got where they were predicting for incorrect … maybe they meant Texas and no us.

      Date: Tue, 18 Mar 2014 14:18:05 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  3. Produce is looking good Jane. I’ll bet you’ve got the happiest slugs in London – pissed out their brains most days!
    My husband went through a (very small) patch of dating tins. I don’t know what brought it on but it didn’t last long. Shades of OCD! I’m pretty much the opposite of OCD if there is one. He has small OCD things – like all his socks have to point the same way on the washing line (they don’t if I peg them out). Stuff like that. I rag him about it and we have a laugh. He’s very not OCD with some stuff – like being tidy. But I’m not very tidy either. I think a full-blown OCD hubby would drive me nuts.

    The whole purpose of an allotment is to escape 🙂

    • I always hang socks up in pairs – that way I know straight away if one is missing – I won’t leave one on it’s own it goes straight back into the wash basket until it’s partner turns up. That’s teh extent of my OCD. I should write a post on his idiosyncrasies but I’m not sure anyone would believe it.

      Date: Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:46:29 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Glebelands Allotments

the home of North Finchley Allotment Society

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

digginwivdebb

For veg growing ideas, hints and tips

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

The Last resort

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

stuff from ellen's head

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

2 http://scribble-n-paint.blogspot.com/

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

OUT OF MIKE'S MIND

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

My Missing Life

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

jabblog

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

It's a Snap !

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

Friko's World

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

The Blog of Bee

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

THE PARK PLACE GAZETTE - Ramblings and musings from a writer

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

