The Camino Portugues

Someone very dear to me is ‘Doing a Course’ – she’s a great one for Doing Courses … I mean she really does them … from start to finish, gets the piece of paper etc.  Lots of her ‘courses’ are professionally related but this one she is doing for fun.  My interpretation of her present course is that it is delving into peoples coping methods.  Why do some people have sunny dispositions others firmly in Oscar the Grouch’s camp.  (That’s just my interpretation of the course … I’m pretty sure it is not as frivolous as I am making it sound)  I was thinking about her course this morning.

Some people comfort eat/drink to soothe their shattered egos … I plan my next physical challenge.  It’s not that I don’t really love food (I do) but I feel as if I have to push myself through ‘difficult’ times by doing something physical – perhaps to prove I still can? Do something constructive to counter balance the destruction?

My first overseas trip for a couple of years is booked and paid for … I am going away for two weeks with my daughter – on a Pilgrimage.  We’ve been planning it for a couple of months now, but last week we finalised the deal.  Our ‘Pilgrimage’ will start in Porto and then we head northwards, walking 260 kms (about 160 miles) to Santiago de Compostela.  We plan to spend 10 days walking and then a couple of days at the end “chillin’ out” (is that still a cool thing to say? Or am I showing my age again?)  I am really looking forward to it.

But I need to be prepared for the walking … and it starts today … running home with my back pack strapped into place.

Posted in Challenges
8 comments on “The Camino Portugues
  1. Ellen Abbott says:

    Jane, you’ve got this in the bag considering that you do marathons and half-marathons. walking should be a breeze.

    • I’m not concerned about the ‘walk’ as such – it’s all relatively flat – but we are carrying our rucksacks and sleeping bags all the way. (That’s why I’ll be running home with a pack on) And I’m not used to that part!

      Date: Mon, 10 Mar 2014 15:23:56 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  2. Barbara Lake says:

    In my book you ars one very determined, spunky, adventurous lady who deserves accolades. Your attempts and successes are mind boggling to me and all I can do is congratulate you in your endeavours and successes..

  3. Kathe W. says:

    what a splendid way to spend time with your daughter- walking and talking through an everchanging landscape. Lovely.

  4. I would love to do that!

Leave a Reply

Glebelands Allotments

the home of North Finchley Allotment Society

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

digginwivdebb

For veg growing ideas, hints and tips

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

The Last resort

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

stuff from ellen's head

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

2 http://scribble-n-paint.blogspot.com/

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

OUT OF MIKE'S MIND

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

My Missing Life

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

jabblog

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

It's a Snap !

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

Friko's World

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

The Blog of Bee

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

THE PARK PLACE GAZETTE - Ramblings and musings from a writer

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

