Advice

We all have a love/hate relationship with Facebook don’t we?

I love that it means I am in casual contact with friends that are now scattered all over the planet – but at the back of my mind I have this little niggle … if I was supposed to remain in touch with that old school friend then surely I would have done that without the aid of Facebook?

In a purely self-obsessed manner I update my FB status with comments about MY life (shock)  and things that interest ME … hell it’s my page isn’t it?  But more and more I have noticed that some ‘friends’ don’t do this.   I know I’ve moaned here and on Facebook about the ‘group huggers’ who threaten you with “You’re not a real friend if you don’t share this” – and then some guff about a friend of a friend who once knew someone who has a rare cancer.  I’ve learned to ignore that rubbish  but now I’m getting this …

pugs

smart

In real life I tend to avoid people who droll every time they see a puppy or kitten, or whose kids/husbands/wives are so perfect that they put the rest of us to shame, or who speak in clichés that they’ve learned from greeting cards – so why am I allowing this crap clog up my newsfeed?

If, like me, you can no longer stomach daily doses of Facebook cuteness just check out this simple process:  flip to your ‘Friends’ list, find the guilty party (s) and let your mouse hover on their name … three boxes appear in the bottom right hand corner … the middle one is the one to focus on.  Click that tick next to the word ‘Following’ and hey presto – you’re ‘Unfollowing’ that individuals posts, no petty de-friending or unpleasant blocking necessary. Perfect!  Thank you Facebook. (This process is reversible at any time)

Posted in Rants
10 comments on “Advice
  1. Ellen Abbott says:

    I use it with wild abandon.

  2. Barbara Lake says:

    When I first joined Face Book I was very wary – to a point I still am. In fact, yes I can be paranoid! When things get out of hand I discreetly (well they’ll never notice anyway) stop notifications from people. I have those (you included!) who I enjoy reading and those I enjoy reading occasionally depending on the type of statuses. I don’t share unless I think it’s a matter of life or death (which is never or hardly) but I do ‘pinch’ now and then always giving credit to the person I lifted it from. I have only blocked three people in as many years. I have a public profile for blogging reasons but do hide some of my personal photographs. The only times I have almost come to blows with anyone was during the times of the US Presidential Elections which led me to say that it was my page,not a democracy and those who did not like what I had to say had better refrain from visiting.!! For the most part,I like Face Book – I must do because it tends to make me late for work in the mornings!

    • Mostly I do enjoy it – but it also makes my eye-balls roll at some of the things people post. I mean we all know our children are smart and beautiful … it’s just a tad monotonous to keep telling everyone else. I love both of mine dearly – but it’s unconditional love … not just when they are smart and beautiful!

      Date: Sat, 1 Mar 2014 02:43:30 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  3. Kathe W. says:

    oh thank you thank you! Whew I can get rid of those silly posts and just focus on….content that has meaning! Have a great day!

  4. toastedknees says:

    Oh, I so don’t do FB. Those who are near and dear I keep in touch with either face to face, by email/letter or on their blogs. I have no desire to acquire hundreds of ‘friends’ with whom I have nothing in common. My life is not wildly exciting, but that’s the way I like it, so who really gives a toss what I’m doing moment to moment? It is a huge time-suck too.
    My daughter got one of those ‘chain’ things and it said, ‘If you don’t pass it on to ten friends something terrible will happen to you!’ she contacted the person who sent it and told her she was not impressed and not to send any more.
    I view FB with as much enthusiasm as I do mobile phones – a bane on society!
    I don’t twitter either. Climbing down now 🙂

    • I started FB to keep in touch with my daughter when she first went to Dublin – and it grew from there. I do enjoy certain aspects of it – especially keeping in touch with overseas friends on a more casual basis, almost like being in the same room – shouting across a comment, but not getting involved in a deep meaningful conversation. I have a Twitter account but never use it and I find it all very odd when a group sits together and instead of interacting with each other they get out their iphones and check FB, Twitter etc and write things like “Having a great night out with friends” … those people wouldn’t know a great night out if it hit them over the head with a hammer. Chain messages of any type just get deleted straight away.

      Date: Wed, 5 Mar 2014 11:11:56 +0000 To: whirlingninja@hotmail.co.uk

  5. Barbara Lake says:

    Chain messages get deleted whether via FB or e mail. I know face to face most of my FB friends and those I don’t are people like yourself, who I have come to know through blogging. And their blogs are extremely interesting.

Leave a Reply

Glebelands Allotments

the home of North Finchley Allotment Society

AGENTS OF FIELD

Garden Blog of the Year 2016

digginwivdebb

For veg growing ideas, hints and tips

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

The Last resort

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

stuff from ellen's head

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

2 http://scribble-n-paint.blogspot.com/

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

OUT OF MIKE'S MIND

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

My Missing Life

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

jabblog

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

It's a Snap !

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

Friko's World

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

The Blog of Bee

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

THE PARK PLACE GAZETTE - Ramblings and musings from a writer

All women are bonkers some ... some are just more bonkers than others

